Principal Stages in the Legislative Process for Government Bills

This section outlines the main stages in the legislative process for Government Bills.  The progress of a Bill and amendments and new clauses and such are usually available on the Parliament website, at

Bill enters House of Commons

First Reading

(No debate)

Second Reading

(Principle debated on the floor of the Commons)

Committee Stage

(Clause-by-clause scrutiny in Standing Committee)


(Amendments considered on the floor of the Commons)

Third Reading

(Final version debated on the floor)

Bill passes to the

House of Lords

Stages similar to House of Commons

Reconciliation of texts between Lords and Commons

Royal Assent



Share this Post: Facebook Twitter Google Plus RSS Email

Related Posts

Comments are closed.